Board Members


Kate Palethorpe

Kate is a practicing lawyer with over 10 years’ experience in both corporate and law firm roles. She is currently the Legal Counsel for Aesop Australia having previously held roles with Minter Ellison, Aussie Farmers Direct and Commquest Ltd. Kate was appointed to the Aussie Farmers Foundation Board in 2015.


Brendan Shaw

Mr Shaw joined the Board of the Foundation in 2014 as Company Secretary and then as a Director a few months later. Mr Shaw is CEO of Aussie Farmers Direct where he is responsible for defining and delivering the strategy of the innovative grocery home delivery business that puts purpose before profit. He joined Aussie Farmers Direct in September 2010 and has held the roles of General Manager – Corporate Development, Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary. Mr Shaw has held numerous directorships across both commercial and not for profit enterprises. Mr Shaw has held a number of financial, commercial and strategic roles throughout his career across small, medium and ASX-listed organisations. including 7 years with Ernst & Young. Mr Shaw is a qualified Chartered Accountant with membership to the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Australia and New Zealand as well as holding a Bachelor of Business (Accountancy) from RMIT University, Melbourne


Skye Douglass

Skye is a scientist, farmer, small business manager, Landcare volunteer, QRRRWN member, mother, wife, and keen advocate for rural and farming communities. Skye lives on a beef cattle farm in the South Burnett, Queensland with her husband, a fourth generation pastoralist and beef producer, and their four children. Skye has worked in various capacities as a researcher and consultant on a range of projects including wildlife surveys, environmental and wildlife impacts, feral animal and weed species management, and revegetation projects.

Anna Power

Anna Rose

Anna Rose is an author, environmentalist and Myer Foundation Innovation Fellow for 2016/17 who is passionate about ensuring profitable, sustainable futures for farming families and rural, regional and remote communities. Anna was recently a finalist in the 2015 Australian of the Year awards.

The Sydney Morning Herald named her one of Sydney’s 100 most influential people, and she was named one of Cosmo magazine’s Top 30 Women under 30. Anna is a recipient of the Sierra Club’s Earth-care award for her services to international environmental protection, and was named the Australian Geographic Society’s Conservationist of the Year in 2015.

Kylie Cirak

Kylie Cirak

Kylie is the Founder and Executive Director of Tiger Grace Consulting. Kylie is a graduate of PBAS, the Partnership Brokers Accreditation Scheme facilitated by the Prince of Wales International Business Leaders Forum and the Overseas Development Institute, and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is the Author of two books: More than Money: How to get money, resources and skills from Australian businesses; and Get On Board – Even Better, Become the Chair.

Executive Officer


Julia Hunter

Julia is the Executive Officer of the Aussie Farmers Foundation. Julia has broad experience across Sustainability, Environmental Management, Marketing, Stakeholder Engagement and Risk Management.

Julia has previously held the roles of Global Head of Environmental Sustainability at ANZ Banking Group and Director of Corporate Responsibility for InterContinental Hotels Group. She is currently a Board member of Mt Hotham Alpine Resort Management Board and Bright Sparks Australia (an environmental social enterprise). Julia was appointed as the Executive Officer of the Aussie Farmers Foundation in June 2015.